The curriculum for the scholars is tailored to the interests and needs of each class. Seminars and workshops are typically held from 3:00pm – 5:30pm on the 1 st and 3rd Thursdays. The expectation is that each Scholar will not miss more than two Scholar sessions each year. Discussion with the Co-Directors is needed if a Scholar is unable to meet the commitments of the program. Seminar and workshop topics include education research, teaching methods, education theory, health and education policy and systems, education leadership and education career development.

2020-2021 workshops and sessions will include:

  Program Assessment Lynne Kirk, MD ACGME Chief Accreditation Officer
  Current Education Research Joan Sargeant, PhD Division of Medical Education, Dalhousie University
  Survey Design TBD
  Small Group Facilitation Beth Wilson, MD
  Qualitative Research Michael Kohut, PhD
  Presentation Skills Vicki Hayes, MD & Isaac Stickney, MEd
  Team-Based Learning TBD
  Mentoring Becca Hutchinson, MD
  Interprofessional Education Renee Fallon, PharmD & Katy Kruithoff, RN
  Teaching Clinical Reasoning Robert Trowbridge, MD
  Expertise & Deliberate Practice TBD
  Change Models Bob Bing-You, MD
  TBD Lara Varpio, PhD